Allegiant – Review

Read in January 2014.

4/5 stars.

While I was reading Allegiant I couldn’t help but feel angry  because I knew Tris was going to die, ever since I started reading it because a friend of mine once thought it would be to see me holding Divergent and shouting “she dies” so reading a book and being aware of the ending and what will happen no matter what happens is terrible. Whether you like the fact she dies or not, it’s not a good move to spoil someone like that. Automatically my idea of Tris is going to be affected by that fact, especially now that compared to the second book where she seemed to have some sort of death wish, she wanted to live, and the fact she said things to Christina for example, that shScreenshot_2017-04-26-21-31-01e wouldn’t leave her, those things just made me angry but what actually hurt me the most was Tobias and how he felt and I just cried like a baby, which reminds me of one thing that at first I didn’t like, the way I saw him completely changed because he stopped being Four which gave the idea that he was that person that was always there, not easy to break into, protective which he always stays but still, and that changed a bit when we get to see him, the inside of him which
is Tobias and on this book, what I didn’t like was  when it shows that Tris was always right and not him, making it seem like his judgment shouldn’t be trusted but eventually my opinion about that changed as it was good to know him and we couldn’t have if we kept seeing him as Four.

Of course, that Veronica was brave I guess, to be able to do what she felt like was the best for the story and not only to do what people expect and unlike all the other books and stories when usually you know what is going to happen and having the hero and the main character surviving has become such a given thing. Like you know they are going to make it no matter what, this character won’t die so it becomes a safe reading that you can be at peace and to a certain level I’m not sure if that’s good and having authors feeling the need to change that and give us something painful but surprising, well, I salute you. Unless it becomes obsessive and every single character must die.

About the series, when they first came out I wasn’t interested. I started seeing things about the movie and just like what happened with The Hunger Games, I did not care. The movies didn’t seem appealing which made me not be interested in the books. As expected, all my opinions changed when I did read the series. I get why some people dislike it and the story may not be the best. Don’t even get me started on the movies (Theo James is the only reason I’ve seen them many many times). But this series means a lot to me. And sometimes it’s not just about the story but the moment you are in when it comes to your life, your state of mind, whatever is going, everything can be a factor to how much impact someone/something is going to have on you. So Divergent feels that way to me.

Leave a Reply

