Fangirl – Review

4/5 stars.
screenshot_2017-04-26-21-31-13.png

This book was recommended to me by my cousin because she thought it was “my face”, I also heard a lot of good things about it by others on social media. So I decided to go for it and buy the book.
I was going to give it 3 stars mostly because I couldn’t connect with certain characters and the plot itself wasn’t that intriguing but then the romance begins and I have to say, Rainbow writes it beautifully. And that’s when I realised I was loving this book. It wasn’t the best book I’ve read so far but it made me feel something, especially the scenes between Cath and Levi – I melted.
I consider myself a writer and I write as well a lot of fanfiction. In fact, considering I write mostly on my second language, if it wasn’t for fanfiction I wouldn’t have been able to improve as much as I have so far. I look back at things I wrote when I started in 2012 and I look at things I’m writing now – in 2016 – and the difference is huge, not only have I improved my English, other skills have gotten better as well. I’m not yet as great as I want to be – in fact, I doubt I’ll ever be satisfied – but I’m happy with what I got. And I think this is why I was able to sort of connecting with Cath. There’s definitely things about her that really annoyed me a bit, but I can relate. I understand her. Everything she says about fanfiction, her love for the characters and the way she describes writing it, I understand. And she’s a lot like me in terms of having social anxiety, not partying, not drinking, being the glasses girl etc. And I can’t tell you how refreshing it feels to finally read a book that focuses on the nerd girls. Really just nerds. But not your usual nerds, this time, fanfiction it’s actually mentioned and I think Rainbow did capture well what it means to write it. And what it means to be a fangirl.
Wren was probably my least favourite. Maybe because she’s the opposite of myself, I don’t drink or like to party and there’s a lot I would have done differently. However she grew on me by the end of the book, she felt more real and like she was done trying to pretend to live a life that wasn’t actually hers to live. I’m not going to try and analyse her character too deep.
Levi, oh Levi. He was my favourite from the start. Probably the only character I didn’t have straight pressing issues with. He’s kind and patient and there’s really just a lot to him that I wish I could know more. Each scene with him involved brought something else into the story.
I know that this has a second book, – Carry On – which is basically Cath’s fanfiction. I wasn’t really that into the whole Simon Snow storyline but I think I’ll give it a try anyway.to end, I recommend this reading to everyone who feels like there isn’t enough talk or representation of Fangirls done in the right way, this is a great start. It does not cover all the points but I think it was really good.

To sum up, I recommend this reading to everyone who feels like there isn’t enough talk or representation of Fangirls done in the right way, this is a great start. It does not cover all the points but I think it was really good, to begin with.

Leave a Reply

