Problematic Books – Fact or Fake? 

1493078393966

Like I said in my previous post, writing a blog used to be easier. As a teenager, computers are part of us and it rarely used to be an issue finding the time to actually write a post. So weeks after of thinking about this, here I am finally doing so.

Since A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas has been released this past Tuesday, I decided this was a great opportunity to talk about books and when they are viewed as problematic. And, before you get the wrong idea, no, I’m not saying that ACOWAR is problematic but it was the target of quite the negative opinions all because of one sentence.

Interesting how I chose a photo for this post with the Angelic Rune and Clockwork Angel by an author that personally, I find super problematic.

Which brings me to this: all week, mostly all month I saw people defending Sarah J. Maas, while others attacked her etc. I don’t agree with bullying and I don’t agree with trying to force your opinion on someone else. If I want to read a certain book I’m going to do so regardless of your feelings for it. Let each person be the judge of how they feel instead of making them feel what they are “supposed to” according to what everyone else is feeling. And the awful part about the Internet, more so than in life outside our phones, laptops etc is that if you can’t control someone you bully them into it.

Now for the real thing. Are problematic books a thing or not? Some people defend the idea that we shouldn’t ask for rep etc in books, that we should turn a blind eye to racism, ableism, homophobic writing etc because that’s just how it is. On that, I disagree. Books hit so many people, if we can’t use them to teach and make progress in society so what then??

I’m not saying that we should force everyone to feel the same way. I don’t like Cassandra Clare and I find her TMI series really problematic when it comes to certain things, I’m not forcing those opinions constantly on others but I also don’t like it when others try to bite my head off for feeling this way.

Choosing to ignore the problems some books have or not, it’s a choice that belongs to each reader and being comfortable with that decision and it shouldn’t be influenced. Let people be free to think what they want, don’t attack me for my opinion, I shall not attack yours.

To sum up, I understand that for some people the love and the fangirling so hard makes it difficult to make and create imparcial opinions but we shouldn’t turn a blind eye to problematic things BUT we also shouldn’t judge and try  to seem cool online and woke without fully knowing what they are talking about. Like it happened with ACOWAR. So far the book is great and like everything else in life: Respect others and be respected. Learn to read the books first, get the full story, talk later.

Make wise decisions people!

Leave a Reply

