A Court of Wings and Ruin – Review

This review contains spoilers. 4,5 stars.  Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

My initial thought was to give this book 5 stars because I just loved it so much. However, as I keep thinking about it more deeply and going through every aspect, there are details that make me want to give it a lower rating. Consider this 4.5 stars. I’ll explain why as go on.
A Court of Wings and Ruin is supposed to be the last book of this trilogy, or at least, that’s what we all thought. As for Feyre’s point of view, this was it. And considering things are seen in her point of view, it’s great. We get to know a lot of things, everything comes to place. But when it comes to the rest of the characters it feels empty. Like I’m missing a huge part of the story and some questions still needing an answer.

Assuming everyone reading this knows what happens in A Court of Mist and Fury, the ending was quite amazing. It ends with Feyre going back to the Spring Court and right from there we see things are going to be a little different, she’s thirsty for blood, so to speak. She’s going to play Tamlin and everyone, feeding them lies and pretending she’s not Rhysand’s mate and she was a victim. I was looking forward to seeing that play out.
However, I admit I found it boring and I was dying to have Feyre back in the Night Court. I can’t stand Tamlin, which just got worse at the meeting with all the High Lords (it happens, later on, a meeting set by Rhysand). But, when she does get back in the Night Court, this time taking Lucien with her, it felt too rushed. It happened too fast. She poisoned the Spring Court from the inside making sure it would fall and it was interesting to see her doing that but it didn’t quite match the ending we got in ACOMAF. I was expecting something bigger and less boring for the beginning.

Processed with VSCO with g3 presetAll that ends fast and then we are back in the Night Court and I got to see some of my favourite characters again. I think everything from that moment on played out perfectly. We got more from each character, you learned details and stories that make sense and help you connect the dots between the books and why a certain thing happened the way it did etc or why this character acts this way or that. Every moment with Feyre and Rhysand was amazing, they have a beautiful and refreshing relation. And my favourite part is how Rhysand simply allows her to be herself, make her own decisions and she has full control of her decisions, life etc. You didn’t see that happen with Tamlin and sadly you don’t see that happening in a lot of other stories which are portrayed as “goals” so kudos to Sarah.
Getting to know more of the rest of the Courts and their High Lords was something that should have happened earlier in the series I guess. I’m glad it happened now but it’s book 3 and only now I discovered or bothered to remember the names of the High Lords of Dawn and Winter for example. And getting to know more in order to know how to describe them and create something out of it.
As for the characters and relations besides Rhysand and Feyre, this is when it reaches the point where the series needed some closure which it didn’t get. In other points as well but I’m going to focus more on the characters. Because after all, those are the things that we tend to care about more while reading a book and the connection we create with it.
Cassian and Nesta are my favourite characters from the series. I absolutely love Rhysand and Feyre and I understand that it was her point of view and the whole story gets told from her eyes so obviously, whatever happens when she’s not present is harder to get ahold of. The fact that Cassian and Nesta are or could be possibly a couple is just a bonus for me, that’s not the reason they are my favourites, not as couple but as individual characters but not getting a closure from them as a couple, again it made the story feel unfinished, made me feel empty and unsatisfied. Which is the opposite of what a final book in a series is supposed to make you feel?

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
I feel like, besides the main character and her mate, Amren was the only one I felt like a full cycle was completed. She got a role to play and her story reached a conclusion. That didn’t happen with the others. We understood more of the complicated history between Mor, Cassian and Azriel. But what happens to Mor? She told Feyre but is she going to come out to the rest of her friends? Is she ever going to tell Azriel and allow him to heal and move on? Clearly, Elain is not feeling the same for Lucien, she does not care that she’s his mate but she creates some sort of connection with Azriel. Is she going to be the one to help him let go of Mor romantically speaking? Are they going to be besties or lovers? Does Elain get full control of her powers? What is going on inside Nesta’s head now?
I’m not going to lie, what kept me reading a lot of the times when I was going through the book was not only wanting to finish and know what happens of course but the desperate need for Cassian and Nesta scenes. Each time I saw their names I both died and was reborn in each scene. There’s something special between them, a love growing but not the love you see with Feyre and Rhysand or even with some other character. It’s just something there, from the moment they first met. Is Nesta the first woman Cassian has truly loved or started to? What did they both feel when the kiss happened? Are they going to be mates? So many questions, so much that still needs to happen in this characters lives that we just did not get to see. And yes, because it’s Feyre’s point of view. This whole thing had to happen in order for Feyre to even see Nesta and Cassian dealing with the king.

I’m guessing all these new books coming up are going to answer our doubts and be in other characters POV but for the last book, supposedly ending a trilogy it should have had more answers. I still think that out of the three, this one is my favourite. It should

Processed with VSCO with g3 presethave been a bigger book, I could read this story forever.

As for characters that I liked in ACOTAR and I don’t like now that much. Tamlin and
Lucien. Actually, I do like Lucien, I’m glad he had a great role to play now. Speaking of closure earlier and unanswered questions, I still don’t see the point of making him Elain’s mate. Nothing seems like it will come out of that and it felt like this stone badly placed in the middle of the story for a purpose that it didn’t get to be unfolded. That’s what I felt at least. Tamlin though, he was just absolutely disgusting during that meeting. He treats Feyre poorly, always. Acting as if he had any control over before and I get the vibe from him that all he wants or ever wanted from her is sex. He never truly loved her how he’s supposed to. But maybe it was her that blinded him to the point of making him be that way, not in her fault but the love he felt for her. It was poison. But it was poison because he forced it, not because he truly wanted to be in love with her or someone in the first place.
Even though he did correct himself, in the end, it wasn’t enough to make me like him but I did wish to see more, does he find that happiness after all? Does he correct his flaws and finds his mate perhaps and learns to be the person he should have been all along with Feyre? We will see.

I’m excited to see what’s coming in the future. What characters we will get to know better. Until then, until it becomes canon we will all live through our imagination, the what ifs and what not’s. Trying to guess what is going to happen.

Leave a Reply

