Lord of Shadows – Review

3.5 stars.

I’ve read this book a while ago but wasn’t able to write a review sooner. I gave Lady Midnight five stars I believe last year but with Lord of Shadows, I feel like it barely reaches four stars.
I’m not sure what happened with this book. It’s not particularly the book’s fault or the author but I expected better and more considering how good Lady Midnight was. lord-of-shadows-cover-nov-16

One thing that I have to point out is how much Cassandra has improved since she wrote TMI. She’s one of the authors I dislike the most but I get really attached to her books. TMI has one of my favourite male characters of all time (Simon Lewis). And even though I loved Lady Midnight, I still believe that TID beats everything else she wrote. Unlike other authors she seems to improve with each book, so that’s a positive note.

However, I just wasn’t feeling it. Emma and Julian felt more intense during Lady Midnight and the book ended with such a great Mark and Emma scene but then when it picks up somewhere else and on Lord of Shadows it kinda loses the first impact it had.

In terms of characters, I adore Ty and Kit. Livvy and Kit just made no sense to me whatsoever, but Ty and Kit just have this chemistry, I love their scenes.
I’m also a huge fan of Mark and Cristina. I did like the progress and what’s going on with them plus Kieran. I was feeling a little bit of Herongraystairs vibe with them.
Emma, I like her but I think I liked her and she’s badass and strong so that’s refreshing, we all need female heroes.
About Julian, I like how ruthless he is and he’s such a complex character or well, not really because we are able to know him and know that for his family there’s nothing he wouldn’t do and he has no problem sacrificing things for them. He loves so deeply and strongly it’s both heartwarming and scary. Seeing his growth has been really interesting.

Overall it’s a good book, it left everything out in the open with the end. I was hoping the next book actually picks up where it left instead of moving forward. I want to know what leads to what.

As for having TMI characters showing up, I can’t explain exactly but they feel so out of character? The whole Clary death situation feels weird and why would you give away like that she’s going to die? Even if it’s a feeling, first it would be either to kill a main character from a series in another one that has nothing to do with her. Plus if she does die, it won’t be surprising because we already know she feels that way and she knows.

Alec and Magnus felt so out of character as well, maybe other people didn’t felt the same way so it might be only me but yeah. It might have something to do with the TV show because I now have this two versions of the TMI characters in my head so seeing them in some other series it’s like 3 different sides of them.

To sum up, I enjoyed the book. I’m really looking forward to read the next one. Even though it might take forever. I just can’t give it more stars, it feels like something was missing.

Leave a Reply

